Flash Fiction: Weekly Challenge #294

Well, NaNoWriMo is over, and one of the things that means is that I’m back to working on 100 Word Stories (along with the Unrealistic Comic Book Pitches and working on finishing the novel). The topic for the Weekly Challenge posted today was “Trees.” I’ve been feeling under the weather for the last several days, though, so I didn’t read mine aloud (which is less due to being sick, and more to do with my voice refusing to cooperate at the moment). I did, however, submit it, so you’ll just have to hear it being read by the “midget.” My entry was entitled “Kudzu.” The origin of the story is kind of amusing (to me, anyway.) I wrote a flash fiction story entitled “The Armadillo Incident,” which inspired the novel my father wrote for NaNoWriMo. Hearing about what he wrote in turn inspired me to write this flash fiction story! (All three are very different stories using similar themes; they just served to be the inspiration for the next story.)

Oh, and I also realized that I never updated the Flash Fiction tab with the last story I wrote for 100 Word Stories’ Weekly Challenge! I’ve corrected that now, and you can now read “How Not to Summon a Demon” there, assuming you didn’t hear/read it over at 100 Word Stories back when it was originally posted (back in the middle of September).

Next week’s topic is Fingerprints, and since Christmas falls on a Sunday, that week’s topic will be Christmas. So I’ve two weeks I can work on…if I can get over this flu to feel up to working on them!

Leave a comment

Filed under Flash Fiction

Leave a comment