NaNoWriMo

For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. Basically, participants attempt to write 50,000 words in the month of November, starting at 12:01am on the 1st, and ending before 11:59pm on the 30th. I participated in 2009, but due to a computer virus, I only made it to 15,204 words. This year, I’m trying again.

My plan is to spend the month of October preparing for the event – it’s against the rules to write even a single word of the 50,000, but outlines and character synopses and so on are perfectly allowed, even encouraged. As such, it’s my intention to go through Michael Stackpole’s “21 Days to a Novel,” which has (unsurprisingly) 21 writing exercises to be done before starting to write your novel (the reason why I thought it was perfect for this.) I’ve only read the first exercise, but I think this could be a lot of fun, as well as immensely helpful. I want to post my responses to the various exercises here, though I’m concerned that some of them might give away too much information (surprise twists, plot details, etc.) I think I’ve figured out a solution, though: use [Redacted] for anything that would give too much away. We’ll see how that works.

Interspersed with all of this, I plan to do some other writing (the Ultimate Comics reviews I mentioned before, and the 100 Word Stories’ Weekly Challenge, if I have time, etc.), but once November hits, I’ll be focusing all my attention on NaNoWriMo.

Oh, and for those who are interested, my profile can be found at http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/user/579850. The site is still showing last year’s information, but is supposed to be updated on the 10th of October. In November, you can even see how far along I am each day, if you like. Oh, and if you’re participating yourself, let me know – I’ll happily add you as a “writing buddy.” 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

