Review: Voodoo #1

Written by Ron Marz, Art & Cover by Sami Basri

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Who is Voodoo? Is she hero, villain – or both? Learn the truth about Priscilla Kitaen as she leaves a trail of violence across America. Discover the new DCU through her eyes, because the things she sees are not always what they seem…

Bias: I’ve enjoyed Ron Marz’ run on Witchblade for the most part (I came into it pretty late in the game, and am only about halfway through his run so far), and while I can see a definite parallel between the titles, I don’t know that it’ll be enough to hold my interest.

What I liked: The artwork was gorgeous, even if it was mostly pin-ups of the main character in various states of undress (not that I minded…) If I’m right about the direction the story is going in, it might have an impact on the Grifter comic…

What I disliked: Like Catwoman, this title had a lot of gratuitous half-naked shots of the main character. Unlike Catwoman, there didn’t seem to be as much reason for it. (Initially? Yes. By the end? Definitely not.) In point of fact, it detracted from the story at the end, which was annoying. The story, while promising, has too many characters acting like idiots for me not to cringe with practically every page.

Verdict: I’m dropping this title, but I may pick up the trades, if it turns out to tie into what’s going on in the Grifter title.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Voodoo #1

  1. I was left wondering how, if at all, this title ties in with Grifter. Is the invading army Agent Tyler Evans refers to is the Daemonites that Grifter is fighting against? Her “natural form” certainly looked similar to the Daemonites. I got a definite “Species” vibe off the whole thing (that she’s not a full Daemonite, but that her DNA was spliced with that of humans.)

    Unfortunately, the actions of the Agents really spoiled it for me. Jessica just beats up the underage kids because they annoyed her? Sure, they were talking tough, and were certainly annoying, but they hadn’t thrown a punch or even seemed like they were going to until she decked the spokesman of the group. And her actions were nothing as stupid as Tyler’s. He’s going to get into a private room with an alien that he acknowledges can read minds? Seriously?! Just how stupid is this guy?

    As for Priscilla, I was okay with her dancing on stage, and when the private lap dance started, but when he called her by name, that would usually be the time that warning bells were going off, and she’d say the dance was over. Okay, she’s actually doing it to get information out of him, and she’s not threatened by him because of her powers. But once he says the truth about her situation (or close enough to it, if he wasn’t 100% accurate), why was she continuing to dance? That made no sense to me except to provide eye candy to the reader, which kinda felt insulting.

    So, yeah – our three main characters were all acting like idiots. I just couldn’t get into this book, and while there’s a lot of promise in the story, I’m going to drop this title and see about getting it in trade paperback form if it ends up being instrumental in titles I do collect (like Grifter).

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5, she appears in the shadows next to the building in the background of one panel up from the bottom right panel on page 11.

Leave a Reply

