DCnU Reviews – Done!

Well, I’ve finished all 52 Reviews on the new DCnU titles that came out this month. Here’s the final tally, for those who are interested:

What I Thought I Would Do

Definitely Collect: Batman, Hawk & Dove, and Justice League Dark

Collect: Captain Atom, DC Universe Presents, Fury of Firestorm, Grifter, Justice League, and Resurrection Man

Probably Collect: Action Comics, Aquaman, Flash, Men of War, Mister Terrific, Red Hood and the Outsiders, Stormwatch, and Teen Titans

Try a Second Issue: Animal Man, Frankenstein-Agent of S.H.A.D.E., Green Lantern, Green Lantern Corps, Legion Lost, Legion of Super Heroes, Nightwing, Static Shock, Superman, Swamp Thing, and Wonder Woman

Drop: All-Star Western, Batgirl, Batman and Robin, Batman: The Dark Knight, Blackhawks, Batwing, Batwoman, Birds of Prey, Blue Beetle, Catwoman, Deathstroke, Demon Knights, Detective Comics, Green Arrow, Green Lantern: New Guardians, I-Vampire, Justice League International, O.M.A.C., Red Lantern, Savage Hawkman, Suicide Squad, Superboy, Supergirl, and Voodoo

What I Ended Up Deciding

Definitely Collect: Animal Man, Deathstroke, and Justice League Dark

Collect: Action Comics, Aquaman, Demon Knights, Detective Comics, Frankenstein-Agent of S.H.A.D.E., Hawk & Dove, Justice League, Resurrection Man, Stormwatch, Suicide Squad, Swamp Thing, and Wonder Woman

Probably Collect: All Star Western, Batman, DC Universe Presents, Green Lantern: New Guardians, Grifter, Justice League International, Legion Lost, Nightwing, and Static Shock

Try a Second Issue: Batgirl, Batman: The Dark Knight, Batwoman, Blue Beetle, Catwoman, Fury of Firestorm: The Nuclear Men, Green Lantern Corps, I-Vampire, Mister Terrific, Savage Hawkman, and Supergirl

Drop: Batman and Robin, Batwing, Birds of Prey, Blackhawks, Captain Atom, Flash, Green Arrow, Green Lantern, Legion of Super Heroes, Men of War, O.MA.C., Red Hood and the Outlaws, Red Lantern, Superboy, Superman, Teen Titans, and Voodoo

As you can see, there was a lot of surprises, both good and bad, in the titles. I ended up straight up dropping a lot less titles than I thought I would, and a lot of the titles weren’t ones I thought I would drop.

So what’s next? My plan is to revisit the reviews in 6 months. That doesn’t mean I’m picking up 6 months of 52 titles, but rather, I’ll let you know what I thought of the first six months so those of you who are collecting trades can see what I thought for that purpose. I’m just going to write how far I ended up collecting a title (whether I dropped it after the first issue, which you’ll already know, or if I continued to collect it all the walk through the six months, and everything in between.)

I’m also planning on reviewing the Ultimate titles over at Marvel. I’m picking all those up anyway, so I thought I’d go ahead and review them. No promises on how quickly I’ll get to them, though – October is going to be pretty busy – but I’ll try. I hope my reviews were helpful! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Review

Leave a Reply

