Review: Green Lantern: New Guardians #1

Written by Tony Bedard, Art & Cover by Tyler Kirkham and Batt

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Kyle Rayner has assembled the most powerful team in all the universe, selected from the full spectrum of corps. But can he even keep this volatile group together?

Bias: I’m not a big Green Lantern fan, and the idea of the Rainbow Lanterns just seems silly to me – so given that this title focuses on that exact group, I’m hard pressed to say that I’m expecting much. Still, Tony Bedard has written some of my favorite cosmic titles in years past, so if anyone can pull it off, it would be him…

What I liked: Huh. I’m extremely surprised to say that I really enjoyed this one! I knew Tony Bedard was a great writer, but I really didn’t think he had enough to work with here to provide something I’d like. I was wrong. The artwork was masterfully done, and the plot was interesting, but what really sold it to me was the dialogue.

What I disliked: The opening sequence. It didn’t tell us it was set in the past, so I was wondering through it all if Kyle was getting a complete reboot. (Turns out, it was just to accentuate the differences in his origin story post-Flashpoint – which is fine, but a little heads up with “2 years ago” or whatever would’ve been nice…)

Verdict: I’ll probably collect this title.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Green Lantern: New Guardians #1

  1. My favorite scene was when the rings start appearing in front of Kyle. This seemed to be the crux of the series – why the band gets together, as it were – and Kyle’s dialogue had me laughing. It did make me realize the problem with Hal and Kyle both having secret identities: what do you call them? “Green Lantern. No, the one with brown hair.” just doesn’t seem to do it.

    I liked that the fear and rage ringbearers died, but that love was protected by one of her own. We didn’t see what happened to the ringbearers of the Blue Lantern Corps, the Indigo Tribe (though from the reaction, it looks like the poor guy died) or Agent Orange (which only has one ringbearer, from what I understand, so that one’s got me curious).

    Actually, that’s one of the few questions I have: what’s going on with the Orange ringbearer? I mean, is there another one out there now? (There was an extra one during Blackest Night that Lex Luthor got, so maybe that’s the one that attuned to Kyle?)

    The only other questions I have are: 1) Why did Kyle suddenly get chosen by all of these rings? (I’m assuming we’ll see the answer next issue, or shortly thereafter); 2) The title – what are the “New Guardians” and how do they relate to the old Guardians? and 3) Why was Kyle’s origin reintroduced? (I see a difference in that Ganthet sticks around, and seems happier with his choice, but if that’s all, was it really needed? I have to assume it ties into the larger story somehow, but I’m not sure how or why just yet…)

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5, she appears in the top left panel on page 24.

Leave a Reply

