Review: Flash #1

Written by Francis Manapul and Brian Buccellato, Art & Cover by Francis Manapul

Solicitation Info (from Previews): The Fastest Man Alive returns to his own monthly series from the writer/artist team of Francis Manapul and Brian Buccellato! The Flash knows he can’t be everywhere at once, but what happens when he faces an all-new villain who really can! As if that’s not bad enough, this villain is a close friend!

Bias: This one is pretty iffy as well. The artwork looks beautiful, and some of the ideas look interesting, but after reading up on the Flash to see how it lead into Flashpoint, I was filled with the sense of “meh.” So we’ll see what Francis Manapul can do without Geoff Johns, but I don’t expect a lot from this.

What I liked: It did a good job of introducing the Flash for new readers without beating his weird, altered continuity over our heads. (For instance, it opens with him on a date with Patty, a co-worker at the Crime Lab – definitely a change from his previous continuity of being married to Iris)

What I disliked: There really wasn’t anything bad, per say. There was action, a decent plot hook, an interesting twist at the end…but it just felt “meh.” None of it was able to capture my interest. I would say that if you liked the Flash pre-Flashpoint, you’ll like the title post-Flashpoint. It really does feel like more of the same (not in terms of story content, but in terms of the feel of the book.)

Verdict: I’m dropping this title.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Flash #1

  1. Strangely enough (especially for me), my favorite aspect of the comic was the romance. Barry Allen is no longer married, and has women competing for his affection (assuming Iris isn’t using him for his usefulness to her career, which seems to be the case this issue, at least.) The problem comes in that I like Patty more than Iris, but since Barry was married to Iris, I’m sure that’s the direction the creative team is going to steer the romance…

    The idea behind the bad guy is interesting – clones of Barry’s old friend (whom we’ve never met before this issue, to my knowledge), Manuel. In retrospect, it makes sense why they were calling each other by numbers – they’re all the same guy.

    As I said, it was a solid first issue – I just couldn’t get into it. Maybe I’ll pick up the trade when it comes out…

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5, she appears in the crowd behind Patty in the bottom panel of page 16.

Leave a Reply

