Review: Nightwing #1

Written by Kyle Higgins, Art & Cover by Eddy Barrows and J.P. Mayer

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Dick Grayson flies high once more as Nightwing in a new series from hot new writer Kyle Higgins (BATMAN: GATES OF GOTHAM)! And as he embraces his destiny, Haley’s Circus, the big top where Dick once performed, returns to Gotham City – bringing with it murder, mystery and superhuman evil. Nightwing must confront his past, among former friends and enemies from his circus days, while uncovering a much greater evil!

Bias: I absolutely loved Nightwing when Chuck Dixon was writing the book – it was one of the rare times when I actually cared about a Bat-family book. So I was disappointed when Dan Didio required that, if Nightwing was to survive, he would have to be drastically changed. I didn’t care for the direction they went in (and even though I approved of him becoming Batman, I hadn’t followed him for long enough to not bother picking up the books). So it will really depend on the direction they go with this new title. I really did like the new Deathstroke book (also written by Kyle Higgins), but this is a different kind of book, so we’ll see.

What I liked: I was happy to see that Nightwing was pleased to be Nightwing again. When Nightwing first got his own ongoing, he wanted to prove himself apart from Batman, so he was pissy whenever Batman showed up. So the fact that he’s happy being Nightwing again (as opposed to feeling like the Batman role was stripped from him) means we won’t get a repeat of those old stories, and this time around seems to fit Nightwing more anyway. I also was highly intrigued by the reason the bad guy comes after Dick Grayson…

What I disliked: The circus. I think the only time I’ve actually liked when a circus was incorporated in a story was Carnivale – every other time, its felt…odd – like it was a part of another world that didn’t belong in the story. Even though Dick Grayson comes from the circus, I still got that feeling here. The circus just doesn’t seem to belong.

Verdict: I’m probably collecting this title.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Nightwing #1

  1. My favorite scene was the last scene, where the new bad guy came after Dick Grayson. It was interesting that he didn’t know Dick was Nightwing, yet said “Grayson isn’t innocent… Dick Grayson is the fiercest killer in all of Gotham. And he doesn’t even know it.” Yeah…very intriguing!

    I also absolutely loved the idea that Nightwing views Gotham itself as his arch-enemy. Every psycho is just another opponent being thrown at him by the city.

    I didn’t care for the circus, but when Dick points out that he’s never visited the circus in Gotham, I realized that I’ve never read a Nightwing circus story after his origin. As such, there’s a kind of symmetry with opening the new title with a story about the circus. (It also means I’ll be happier when it’s over, but from what I’ve seen, I’ve faith that Kyle Higgins will come up with something interesting regarding the circus.) One aside: I thought it was incredibly stupid to have the clown dress in the Joker’s colors – I’m definitely on the clown’s side on this one…

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5, she appeared on the far right of the main, middle panel of page 15, partially hidden by the bleachers.

Leave a Reply

