Review: Green Lantern Corps #1

Written by Peter J. Tomasi, Art by Fernando Pasarin and Scott Hanna, Cover by Doug Mahnke and Christian Alamy

Solicitation Info (from Previews): When deadly conflicts emerge across the universe, it’s up to Guy Gardner, John Stewart and an elite Green Lantern strike force to keep the peace – or else.

Bias: As with Bat-books, I’ve never been much of a fan of Green Lantern books (which is odd, since I love cosmic comic stories). I’m hopeful that this one will prove me wrong, and entice me to pick it up, since we really don’t have another cosmic DC book right now, but it’ll have to really prove itself to do so (especially since I didn’t care for Green Lantern or Red Lantern, and I can only imagine crossovers are going to be standard fare…)

What I liked: The cosmic side of the book was pretty good. I enjoyed the mystery of the corpsmen’s death, and the fallout that resulted. I liked the characterization of Guy Gardner and John Stewart – especially that their situations are very similar, yet their personalities are very different.

What I disliked: The scenes on Earth were just too long, and almost caused me to quit reading. It felt very much like the depressing scenes with Hal Jordan in Green Lantern #1 (namely, all of them). Thankfully, we moved past that and onto the interesting story, but it makes me wonder how much we’ll have to see in future issues, since they’re officially assigned to Earth’s sector of space…

Verdict: I’m giving this one more issue to hook me.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Green Lantern Corps #1

  1. My favorite scene was Guy and John returning to Oa and interacting with Salaak. It was a lot of fun to see the different personalities in play – Guy almost stole the stage, but John was the one who really stood out to me, especially since he wasn’t bothered by not having the spotlight, but instead focused on doing something. I really get the sense the team they formed was in spite of Guy and because of John…

    I didn’t realize that Green Lantern corpsmen were now buddied up in each sector – and that’s something I liked. It felt more like a cop’s beat, with each corpsman having a partner on that beat.

    I was taken aback by the fact that Sector 2814 (Earth’s sector) had four corpsmen assigned to it, but that makes sense – I mean, how much crap goes down in that sector? (A lot, if you needed it answered for you.) And it’s the sector containing the White Lantern, which I’m assuming we’ve just scratched the surface on its relationship to the corps… But if John and Guy are sitting around bored, why the hell isn’t at least one of them keeping tabs on Sinestro? It seems that this was skipped over mostly because Sinestro is in another book – which is a very annoying reason.

    I felt we could’ve been spared the seven pages of Guy and John on Earth with a single page explaining it (preferably one page total, but one page each would work, too). The page with them together, sitting on the satellite, did more for me than the previous pages of them on Earth – and those extra pages could’ve been used to incorporate Kilowog, or show us how they gathered their team together (and give us more of an introduction to them, too). I mean, there was some humor in Guy’s part of that story, but we’ve seen in Green Lantern that the corpsmen need a day job to pay for an apartment, buy groceries, etc. So “go catch the bad guys” doesn’t exactly do that, now does it? And if they can get all that on Oa, why the hell are they working on/trying to get regular jobs? Give them a hobby that ties them to Earth instead… So this did nothing to help me understand the characters – it only served to confuse and annoy me.

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5, she showed up in the middle of the middle left panel on page 12, in front of the construction workers in the background.

Leave a Reply

