Review: Wonder Woman #1

Written by Brian Azzarello, Art & Cover by Cliff Chiang

Solicitation Info (from Previews): The Gods walk among us. To them, our lives are playthings. Only one woman would dare to protect humanity from the wrath of such strange and powerful forces. But is she one of us – or one of them?

Bias: I absolutely love Brian Azzarello’s non-super hero work, but the man’s dislike of super heroes really does shine through in the titles of that genre that he deems to write. Still, he’s stated that he’s writing this like a horror book, and focusing on her mythic connections rather than her heroic ones could make for a damn good story – especially in Mr. Azzarello’s hands. We’ll find out next week, I guess.

What I liked: This definitely had the feel of one of Mr. Azzarello’s non-super hero works. I’m a bit rusty on my Greek Mythology, but it was fun to try to figure out who was who. The events of the story were twisted and dark – and yet, the tone of the story was heroic…mythic, in both story plot and scope, and very, very fun! It’s also one of the few comics where going back to re-read it gave new insights and details that I missed the first time around. I’ve done that later in a series before, but never in a single issue!

What I disliked: Honestly, there’s nothing I can think of that I particularly disliked! It felt a bit confusing at first, but by the end of the issue, I felt I had a good grasp on the story, and re-reading the beginning pages with the knowledge from the latter pages really did clear up what was going on in the earlier ones.

Verdict: I’m going to be collecting this title.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Wonder Woman #1

  1. My favorite scene was the fight with the centaurs, especially the captions inserted over the scene, and the ending. When the fight ends, and Wonder Woman has saved Zola, she looks down at her and says with a smile “I thought I told you to stay close.” I felt that one panel summed up the first issue. Wonder Woman wasn’t upset – she looked amused. This is a mythic story with a pretty dark premise, but Wonder Woman treats it pretty light heartedly – she’s in control and knows it. As for the captions, they detail what amounts to a prophesy, and show us what’s to come – and it’s very cool.

    The newly crafted oracles tell Apollo that (what we assume to be) Zola’s unborn child is Zeus’ child, and will kill one of Zeus’ other children and take their place. Further, Zeus has apparently allied himself with someone from outside the pantheon to set these events into motion. I’m quite sure there’s more to it, of course, but that’s what I could decipher from this issue.

    The peacock is associated with Hera, so I’m assuming that the woman in the peacock cloak is Hera. Hera has attacked women Zeus has slept with before, so I’m not sure if she’s trying to stop what Zeus is doing, or if this is just her jealously attacking those whom Zeus sleeps with, which has many precedents in the myths.

    I found it interesting that Wonder Woman is residing in London. I’m not sure if I’m reading too much into it, but it felt like a nod to the events of Flashpoint. I found it interesting that, when Zola recognizes her as Wonder Woman (and calls her by that name), she responds by correcting her. “You’re Wonder Woman?” “Diana.” This gives me the impression that she doesn’t like being viewed as a super hero, and I’m okay with that – mostly because I think that if Azzarello had her view herself as a super hero, he wouldn’t do as good a job of writing the title, and I like what I’ve read so far.

    So…where is Zeus? What’s he really up to, and why? It looks like Apollo and Hera are opposed to what he’s doing (though maybe for different reasons, and certainly not working together as yet). Who else is going to be trying to kill Zola? Who was the woman at the unborn child’s feet in the prophesy? Lots of questions to be answered, and Wonder Woman will certainly have her hands full trying to keep Zola and her unborn child alive…

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5, she appeared half hidden behind a tree on the far right of the middle panel on page 22.

Leave a Reply

