Review: Blue Beetle #1

Written by Tony Bedard, Art by Ig Guara and Ruy Jose, Cover by Tyler Kirkham and Sal Regla

Solicitation Info (from Previews): It’s not easy being Jaime Reyes. He has to deal with high school, family and all the drama that comes with being a teenager. Also, he’s linked to a powerful scarab created by an alien race known as the Reach who seek to subjugate planets – or annihilate them. It’s up to one teen hero to turn this instrument of destruction into a force for good.

Bias: I like the concept more than the execution of the previous series, so maybe a fresh perspective on it will be just what the doctor ordered, though I would’ve preferred to see Booster Gold in the book…

What I liked: I was happy to see that, while this was relaunching with the origin, they didn’t hold back on the “big reveal” from the previous series. We know right off the bat what the origin of the scarab is. The mix of a local setting with a cosmic scenario is an interesting dynamic, though in future issues, I’m going to be looking forward more to the cosmic level stuff than the local flavor, and I’m honestly not sure what the breakdown of each will be.

What I disliked: The thing that turned me off from the original series is what I disliked this time around as well: the local setting. I just can’t bring myself to care about the supporting characters. As I said, I’m hoping to see more cosmic storylines than local ones…

Verdict: I’m going to give it a second issue – to see how much is local versus cosmic.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Blue Beetle #1

  1. My favorite scene was the opening sequence, mostly because this is what I’m hoping to see in future issues – stuff like this. Tony Bedard has written some of my favorite cosmic stories (Negation for CrossGen, Exiles for Marvel, R.E.B.E.L.S. for DC, etc.), and he really shows that in the opening sequence.

    My problems with the supporting cast is basically that I don’t like his friends.
    Paco. Seriously, Jaime’s parents have a problem with having him go over to a respected businesswoman’s home because they know the truth about her when apparently no one else does. Seems to me that she must do a damn good job of keeping business separate from her family life for no one else to know the truth about her… And yet, they have no problem with him hanging out with a high school drop-out member of a gang? I have a hard time not seeing Paco as a bad influence and someone that Jaime should be avoiding… Heck, if he was really in a gang, wouldn’t he send some guys around to rough up the blond kid (or, if he wasn’t that ranking in the gang, wouldn’t he have to do it himself) for the honor of the gang? I’m a white guy in his 30’s, so maybe I’m just out of touch with how gangs operate (I can almost guarantee it), but this just doesn’t strike me as realistic, or even plausible. I guess I just expect it to be more like the gangs from the TV show the Shield…
    Brenda. I haven’t seen any reason why I should care about this girl… Is there really no other attractive girl at that high school? I mean, literally every guy introduced so far is after her. It also seems extremely odd for someone with so fair a complexion has Hispanic blood.
    His Parents. Aside from the aforementioned “what’s the deal with him being allowed to hangout with a gangbanger but not a businesswoman,” I actually did like his parents. A lot of that was the artwork – their facial expressions made you really feel for them. And I’m curious to see how they know about la Dama, since no one else seems to. What’s their connection to her?

    Anyway, I’m curious to see where things go from here, as well as what history is still canon. What is the legacy of the Blue Beetle identity (I’m assuming Ted Kord was Blue Beetle and is dead, but what about Dan Garrett? Did he have the scarab?) And how will this history affect Jaime, if at all?

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5, she’s in the top left of the bottom panel on page 25, watching from around the corner of a building.

Leave a Reply

