Review: Catwoman #1

Written by Judd Winick, Art & Cover by Guillem March

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Meet Catwoman. She’s addicted to the night. Addicted to shiny objects. Addicted to Batman. Most of all, Catwoman is addicted to danger. She can’t help herself, and the truth is – she doesn’t want to. She’s good at being bad, and very bad at being good. Find out more about what makes Catwoman tick in this new series from writer Judd Winick (BATMAN: UNDER THE HOOD) and artist Guillem March (GOTHAM CITY SIRENS)!

Bias: This one looks like it’s more appealing for the artwork than the story, and while the artwork is certainly very appealing, I’m into comics more for the story than the artwork. Besides, I’m biased against Bat-family books, ordinarily – they really have to blow me away to catch my interest…

What I liked: The artwork was definitely the best feature of this title, but that’s not to say the story wasn’t good – it was. It just gets a bit overshadowed by the artwork (and it was obvious that a lot of the story was written with the artwork in mind – we’re given every excuse to see Selina half-dressed.) Still, the story was well crafted, and did a good job of setting up future issues. And I liked that her friend’s figure wasn’t that of a super model.

What I disliked: Some of the details felt like they were skipped over, and her lack of follow-up to the events from the very beginning of the comic annoyed me. I’m sure she’ll get to it in the next issue, but she struck me as rather laissez faire about the whole thing. (Needless to say, more in extended.)

Verdict: It was definitely worth collecting, though the idea of collecting Catwoman is hard to wrap my mind around. As such, I’m giving it one more issue to convince me (though I’m pretty sure, if it’s anything like this one, that it’ll succeed.)

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Catwoman #1

  1. My favorite scene in the comic was the opening sequence. You could feel that she was hurrying – that something was coming, and I wasn’t disappointed when the bad guys did show up. It was action packed, and it was fun to see what she considered important enough to grab (most notably: her cats, stuffed into a pet carrier). If I had one gripe (and this was one of the details that seemed to be missing), it was that we had no clue how she knew the bad guys were on their way. Her actions showed that she knew they were coming, but her thoughts indicated she didn’t know who they were, why they were there, or even that they were on their way before they burst in the door. Even a quick blurb about “loud footsteps up the stairwell could only mean trouble” or some such would’ve been fine. That, and the fact that she didn’t seem to care who they were – she wasn’t interested in finding out through the rest of the comic. I wanted to know, so I wanted her to want to know so she would look into it…

    As for her friend/fence, I loved that she wasn’t drawn with the standard figure that every woman in comics has. I mean, she wasn’t pre-Flashpoint Amanda Waller fat, but she did have a couple extra pounds on her. I just found it refreshing to find the spectrum of body types represented.

    The description of Batman was interesting. From “He tastes like metal. He uses an ointment or something to keep his exposed flesh safe.” to the fact that they’ve had sex multiple times in the past, and every time he protests. I’m also curious to about the title to next issue: The Morning After. Given that Batman always protests, I’m assuming he normally does his usual disappearing act, but since he has questions for her about who blew up her apartment, and given the title to next issue, I’m assuming he’s sticking around this time (which will both be interesting, and – hopefully – lead to an investigation of why the bad guys attacked her.)

    The only other “mystery” this issue concerns the job she plans to take – stealing the painting. Since the real bartender was found, and Catwoman escaped in costume, I’m assuming the Russians are going to want to make a grab for the painter quicker than they intended to, which will lead to complications when Catwoman tries to nab it herself. I’m curious to see how that particular job plays out – I think it’ll be a fun story, though I’m hoping it’s issue 3, and that issue 2 focuses on investigating the bad guys from the beginning of the issue…

    Oh, I almost forgot one other question from the series: what did Catwoman and her friend do to piss off the Russian that resulted in her friend being shot (and killed?) I’m assuming we’re going to see more of that as the story with the Russians unfolds…

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman, she appears on page 11 in the top left of the main panel. Nothing new to learn from this appearance – she’s still glowing, hiding in plain sight, and has fingers that end in claws.

Leave a Reply

