Review: Superboy #1

Written by Scott Lobdell, Art by R.B Silva and Rob Lean, Cover by Eric Canete

Solicitation Info (from Previews): They thought he was just an experiment – and a failed one at that! Grown from a combination of Kryptonian and human DNA, the Clone was no more than a set of data to the scientists of Project N.O.W.H.E.R.E. But when the scope of his stunning powers was revealed, he became a deadly weapon! Now the question is: Can a clone develop a conscience?

Bias: I’m excited about Teen Titans, and I’m curious how this title ties in with that one, especially since both are written by Scott Lobdell, but I’m not sure I’ll stick around beyond that. This will have to be an interesting take on the character, and more than what I’m getting from Teen Titans for me to want to stick around.

What I liked: They did a great job of making Superboy alien, and exploring his unique physiology and psychology.

What I disliked: For the most part, it felt like nothing happened. We got an origin that could be summed up on one page, but was instead stretched out to fill a whole issue. There were also inconsistencies in the story – specifically in regards to what I did like about the comic: his unique physiology and psychology.

Verdict: I’m going to see what I think of Teen Titans before I decide about this book, though I’m leaning toward dropping this title.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Superboy #1

  1. My favorite scene was the VR Kansas. Inserting Rose Wilson was genius, though I was disappointed that Rose was upset about it later (what better preparation to kill Superboy, should the need arise, than to create in him feelings for you. He drops his guard, and WHAM! You kill him. Rose should’ve seen the value in that…) I especially loved that he ignored the cry for help. Makes you wonder if he did it because he knew no one was in danger because it was only virtual reality, or if he has no conscience due to his human genetic donor…

    Speaking of which, why keep us in the dark on this one? Are they moving away from the pre-Flashpoint origin of his human genetic donor being Lex Luthor? If so, that’s something they should’ve let us know immediately – set the stage for what they’re going to do different with the book. If not, then it’s not really a surprise anyway, is it? For something that could have easily been inserted (all the guy had to do was say the name – he’d said everything leading up to the name already – and there was plenty of space left in the panel to include it!)

    The inconsistency that I referred to was concerning language. Superboy narrates “How have I learned language and cognitive thinking? Because the entire time they have been studying me…? I have been studying them.” So why, then, on the very next page, does he not understand when the head of the project says “Initiate the termination protocols.” Instead, he reacts by narrating “Something…is wrong. I intuit…resignation. Finality?” It bothered me that such a glaring gap in the continuity happened so close together on the pages. His physiology and psychology are complicated enough without glitching on the relatively easy stuff.

    The last page reveal is that they’re going to send Superboy to deal with the Teen Titans, so I’m going to see what I think of the Teen Titans book, and if I like it, I’ll flip through Superboy #2 to see if it ties in. If I don’t like the Teen Titans book, or if the second issue doesn’t tie into Teen Titans, I’ll probably drop this title…

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman, she appears in the far right of the top panel on page 27.

Leave a Reply

