Review: Suicide Squad #1

Written by Adam Glass, Art by Marco Rudy, Cover by Ryan Benjamin

Solicitation Info (from Previews): They’re a team of death-row super villains recruited by the government to take on missions so dangerous – they’re sheer suicide! Harley Quinn! Deadshot! King Shark! Defeated and imprisoned, they’re being interrogated about their mission – and about who’s pulling the strings behind this illegal operation. Who will be the first to crack under the pressure?

Bias: What I said concerning Deathstroke and Etrigan of Demon Knights is especially true here. I’ve seen Harley Quinn often viewed as a sympathetic character, which I think is just plain wrong, in my opinion. If the other villains are painted with the same brush, I’ll be dropping this title. Let’s see these characters remain villains, and I’ll love this title.

What I liked: It was a damn good start. They did an amazing job of showing us the current situation intermixed with how each member of the team got arrested in the first place. The reactions of each of the characters on the team were brilliant – I loved them all! Also, there were quite a few twists and turns, and not only did I not see them coming, but they made perfect sense in retrospect – the best kind of story twist.

What I disliked: There were two artists on the book. The artist at the start was Federico Dallocchio, who had a dark style that fit the story perfectly – loved it! The artist that finished the issue was Ransom Getty, and while he was a great artist, and I would love to see him on more traditional super hero comics, I just didn’t think his style fit well with the book. I also didn’t care for the new Amanda “I’ve been to Jenny Craig!” Waller – the woman should be overweight. People should look at her and immediately underestimate her. It’s part of her power, dammit! Ah well, they eventually do it with all the female characters… (I’m looking at you, Rogue!)

Verdict: I’m collecting this title, without a doubt.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Suicide Squad #1

  1. I simply couldn’t pick between two favorite scenes, so I’ll list ‘em both: the torture of Harley Quinn and the torture of King Shark. Both had such awesome lines. Harley: Hee…that’s so cute. You think you’re scary. But mister, I’ve seen scary. And you ain’t got his smile.” King Shark plays dead, and when they check his vitals, he eats the man’s arm. When they go to knock him out, he simply says “Closer… Closer…” with the torturers scared to get any closer. I loved that!

    As I said before, I loved the twists and turns. To find out that this was all a test…well, I didn’t see it coming. Yet in the very first couple of pages, we see that the torturer knows an incredible amount about Deadshot, so it makes sense that Task Force X was behind it all. I just didn’t see it coming.

    The last page was also magnificent (aside from Amanda Waller’s aforementioned new look): their first mission is to kill the sixty thousand people in the stadium they’re being dumped in – and dumped in is pretty accurate: the team is thrown out of an airplane, still bound to their chairs. Definitely a cliffhanger if I’ve ever seen one, and it really makes you wonder why Waller wants everyone in the stadium dead. Is she trying to set up funding for a government program? Is there something wrong with the people in the stadium (infected with a virus or something?) I don’t know, but I’m curious to find out!

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman, she was on the far edge of the crowd in the top panel of page 6. The image of her confirms that she’s got some massive hands/fingers going on…

Leave a Reply

