Review: Red Lanterns #1

Written by Peter Milligan, Art & Cover by Ed Benes and Rob Hunter

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Atrocitus and his Red Lantern Corps return in their own series, battling against injustice in the most bloody ways imaginable!

Bias: As I said under Green Lantern, I’m not a big Green Lantern fan, and the Rainbow Lanterns just seemed silly to me. Maybe the most violent, bloody Lantern set can change my mind, but I’m just not feeling the love for this one. Not prior to reading the first issue, anyway.

What I liked: It was a good introduction to the Red Lanterns (especially since I knew next to nothing about them).

What I disliked: While the comic did a good job of introducing the characters, it didn’t give me any reason to care about them or what they’re doing.

Verdict: Dropping this title.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Red Lanterns #1

  1. My favorite scene was the opening sequence: the Red Lantern cat. I couldn’t tell if the ring was the sentient being, or if it was translating what the cat said, but either way, it was a ferocious beast. The “what are you doing to my cat?” line made me laugh, too.

    A few points that bothered me:
    1) Atrocius’ “new” mission doesn’t feel new. He’s now going to “punish those who deserve retribution”? Isn’t that what he was doing before? How does that reinvigorate his rage?
    2) Atrocius is just going through the motions of rage, yet he seems to be the only one of the Red Lanterns with his mental faculties intact, making it hard to find a character to root for. (The only character I showed any interest in was the cat…)
    3) What was the point of the sequences on Earth? I was okay with the old guy getting beaten to death to show the reader atrocities on Earth, then a few on other worlds, to showcase that it happens across the universe. I’m sure his grandkids are going to play a role in the rest of the series, but again, I just didn’t care, and since nothing has yet come of it, it didn’t feel like it was worth the space it took up to tell that part of the story.

    Oh, and as for the mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5, she was in the top panel of page 23, standing alone in an alleyway, and watching the brothers argue. The only real significance here seemed to be that she was shown on Earth – is this the only planet in the DCnU that she’s interested in? I’m wondering if the point of the sequences on Earth was to give us a place to see her in the background…

Leave a Reply

