Review: Green Lantern #1

Written by Geoff Johns, Art by Doug Mahnke and Christian Alamy, Cover by Ivan Reis and Joe Prado

Solicitation Info (from Previews): The red-hot GREEN LANTERN team of writer Geoff Johns and artist Doug Mahnke introduce an unexpected new Lantern.

Bias: It’s weird. I love cosmic stories. I collected all of Marvel’s cosmic titles, I collected L.E.G.I.O.N. and R.E.B.E.L.S., but I could just never get into Green Lantern. And the idea of the rainbow lanterns just seems silly to me (and given my love of Hawk & Dove, I read all of Blackest Night, so this is a view based on having read them). All that was to say that I don’t see myself excited about this one, but we’ll see.

What I liked: The artwork was absolutely genius (no one can draw aliens like Doug Mahnke!) and there were certainly some great scenes in the story.

What I disliked: Unfortunately, this wasn’t much for a jump-on point. This wasn’t a new beginning so much as a new storyline in a long running series. If you hadn’t read what came before, this title isn’t for you (or me).

Verdict: I’m dropping this one.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Green Lantern #1

  1. I loved the scene where Hal jumps across the alleyway, seven stories up, through another apartment’s window to tackle the man abusing a woman…only to see the cameras and realize it was a movie. (I thought it was a bit much to assume he’d go to jail from it – hell, I’d’ve hired him to be a stuntman if I were directing the movie! – until you find out he was resisting arrest, which I can buy.)

    I also enjoyed the fact that Sinestro recited the oath to get the Guardians to remove the ring from him – he didn’t want it. (I love the fact that his eyes – the windows of the soul, as the saying goes – are yellow, even though he’s wearing the green. WONDERFUL imagery there.)

    I wasn’t so impressed with reading about Hal Jordan. His life sucks without the Corps, I get it. He’s still a good character, I get that too. So much time was spent on Hal that there’s no question in my mind that he’s getting the ring back (not that there ever was), so this just felt like a story for people who are faithfully following the title. The real jump-on point will be when he gets the ring back. I’ll check out the title again when that happens…

    Oh, and as for the mysterious, hooded woman, she appears in the midst of a crowd in the fourth panel down on page 18.

Leave a Reply

