Review: Batman and Robin #1

Written by Peter J. Tomasi, Art & Cover by Patrick Gleason and Mick Gray

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Battling evil with his son, Damian, at his side, Batman now realizes that the hardest part of the job may be trying to work together! As Batman and Robin try to adjust to their new partnership, a figure emerges from Bruce Wayne’s past: His name is NoBody, and he’s not happy that Batman Incorporated is shining a light on his own shadowy war against evil…

Bias: I kinda like the idea of Batman’s sidekick being his son (especially given who his son is), and I love Patrick Gleason’s art. Still, Batman in general usually doesn’t usually interest me as a solo book. We’ll see.

Overall Thoughts:

What I liked: The artwork was beautiful. The plot was interesting and engaging, and there was a definite energy to the story.

What I disliked: I like the idea of Damian, but he came off as nothing more than an annoying twit. And Batman just didn’t feel like Batman to me.

Verdict: Dropping this title.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Batman and Robin #1

  1. My favorite scene was when he fixed the core containment by blowing up the swimming pool above it (and setting up a net to catch everyone who was in the swimming pool.) It was a lot of fun, and the kind of ingenuity we expect from Batman. (The fact that the swimming pool was directly above was more than a little coincidental, but the cool visual more than made up for it.)

    So we’ve got two mysteries at the end of the comic:
    1) Who hired the thieves to steal an “exact amount of irradiated fuel”?
    2) Who is “Nobody,” and does he know that Bruce Wayne is Batman, or is he just going after him because WayneTech is connected to Batman, Inc.? (His mission to erase Batman’s global initiative is interesting – I’m curious why he feels so strongly about it…)

    If this was a story with brand new characters, I probably would’ve loved it. Unfortunately, both Batman and Robin grated on me.
    Batman is no longer going to be honoring the day of his parents’ death, but rather, their wedding anniversary? The idea of “I honor their deaths to remind me why I do what I do – so no other child will have to go through what I did” is simply tossed out? That really doesn’t feel like a Batman move. And their wedding anniversary seems like an odd date to pick. Why not their birthdays? I dunno. That scene just bothered me – not the least because of Robin’s irreverence to the whole thing. Batman can – and has – shut down practically every hero out there with a glare, but he’s going to just let Damian crap all over something that was of true importance to him? And this was typical throughout the comic. Whenever Robin wasn’t in the scene, I enjoyed the comic. Batman generally acted like Batman. But whenever Robin was there, I couldn’t stand either one of them.

    As much as I liked the overall plot, I just don’t like Batman around Robin, and I can’t stand Robin. I’m done with this title.

    As for the mysterious hooded figure, she’s on the far left of the middle panel of page 25. Interestingly, she appears to be cut off at the knees – as if she’s intangible, and standing below the surface of the ground. Maybe the reason no one notices her is that she’s not actually there…

Leave a Reply

