Review: Resurrection Man #1

Written by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning, Art by Fernando Dagnino, Cover by Ivan Reis and Joe Prado

Solicitation Info (from Previews): It’s the return of Mitch Shelly – and he’s still dead. Resurrection Man can’t stay dead for long, though – and with each rebirth comes new and unexpected powers. But his many returns have not gone unnoticed, and forces are gathering to learn what’s so special about him – and to see which of them will finally stop Resurrection Man dead.

Bias: I loved the old series and was sad to see it go. I’ve loved what DnA have done with Marvel’s cosmic books. I’m expecting this to be awesome, but am willing to be told I underestimated just how good this book will actually be. 😉

What I liked: This was what I came to expect from the previous Resurrection Man series – lots of twists and turns, poor Mitch dying repeatedly, and setting up multiple storylines as subplots that will eventually become the main story once the current one “resolves.” If it follows the old series format, it will have a flow to it where one story will blend into the next naturally, yet even though you have an idea of what’s coming, there are enough twists and turns to surprise you. The descriptions of what he senses and feels with each power is usually interesting, as well… The artwork was very reminiscent of Butch Guice (the original series artist), but felt more polished (a good thing, in my opinion). It was definitely a good fit for the series!

What I disliked: It felt a bit rushed. I was able to follow perfectly fine, but I’m not sure if that’s because I’d read the previous series, or because it was clear enough for someone who hadn’t.

Verdict: I’m definitely collecting this title – and will be buckling up for the wild ride!

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Resurrection Man #1

  1. My favorite scene was the fight in the plane. The condescension was practically dripping off Suriel (we find out its name on the last page of the comic), but when the Air Marshall shot Suriel, and its reply was “Seriously?” well…I found it amusing.

    A few notes in relation to the old series:
    1) Mitch now resurrects with a mission each time. I think that’s definitely a good addition to the character – he spent a bit too much time trying to figure out what to do next and who he should be in the old series.
    2) They never resolved the previous time that angels were coming after Mitch, so it’s good to see that this will be a focus early on – a continuation that (I felt) didn’t feel like you needed to know more. (If it’s any help: Suriel wasn’t in the old series, so it feels like a fresh start with its inclusion in the hunt.) By the by, I keep referring to Suriel as an it because it started as a woman, but at the end, changed form to that of a guy. I figure it’s easier to just refer to Suriel as an it rather than keep switching pronouns.
    3) Looks like the Body Doubles are back (they’re the viscous women tracking the John Doe – if this follows the old series, then they know its Mitch, and that he can resurrect.) This was what I was referring to about subplots that will make their way into the main story. (Well, this and the mention of Hell coming for Mitch as well, and the Madam Xanadu last page reveal, too.)

    So…questions:
    1) I’m curious to see what the deal with the “phantoms of the afterlife closing in to claim the dead” turns out to be. Maybe he wasn’t on the plane to prevent the deaths, but to see the aforementioned phantoms – maybe they’re going to be important later on, and he needed to know something about them (or even that they exist).
    2) I wonder why the Body Doubles are after Mitch this time. Maybe I’m misremembering, but I’m pretty sure they were done pursuing him by the end of the previous series. Of course, where would be the fun in that? I’m just curious why they’re pursuing him (and given that the next issue is titled “Double Danger!” it doesn’t look like we’ll have to wait very long to find out!)
    3) Madam Xanadu sensed trouble with Mitch’s latest round of resurrection(s). I’m pretty sure that means we’ll be seeing her again, but she’s also currently on the Justice League Dark team – I wonder if the rest of the team will show up… (If nothing else, I’d love to see Mitch meet John Constantine – that would be a fun team-up! lol)

    As for the mysterious, hooded “woman,” she appears in the foreground of the bottom panel of page 21. She’s hiding in front of a tree so Mitch can’t see her. Interestingly enough, I would almost swear it was a guy. Maybe the reason the mysterious, hooded person is all over the place is because it’s not just one person, but a whole group of people dedicated to this timeline problem… Even if I’m wrong about there being a group, the figure was different from the others we’ve seen in that we could see his/her hands, including some very elongated fingers…

Leave a Reply

