Review: Grifter #1

Written by Nathan Edmondson, Art by Cafu, Cover by Cafu and Bit

Solicitation Info (from Previews): The DCU’s most wanted man stars in his own series! Cole Cash is a charming grifter few can resist. And yet he’s about to be branded a serial killer when he begins hunting and exterminating inhuman creatures hidden in human form – creatures only he can see! Can the biggest sweet talker of all time talk his way out of this one when even his brother thinks he’s gone over the edge?

Bias: This one excites me, and I couldn’t even tell you why. Grifter never impressed me in WildC.A.T.s, so I would never have thought a solo book would’ve interested me. Still, I can’t help but think that this take on the character is something I’m really going to enjoy, and I do love the idea of the rest of the world thinking he’s a serial killer, forcing him to work in hiding.

What I liked: This issue set the stage pretty well. It showed us who the bad guys are, why our hero is the only one who can stop them, and set up his situation pretty well. I also love con artist stories, and while they skimmed over that aspect this issue (they showed that he’d done one, but not how he’d done it), I have high hopes that Grifter will be using such tactics against his enemies in the future.

What I disliked: Some of the pacing seemed…odd. Oh, and while most of the artwork was excellent, I couldn’t help but laugh at the interior of the plane – how I wish there was that much room on a plane! There was also something of a discrepancy in time…

Verdict: I’ll probably collect this title.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Grifter #1

  1. My favorite scene was where he wakes up mid-process. We still don’t know how he woke up (which was unheard of, apparently), but after that, the rest of the comic made sense. He can sense the thoughts of the Daemonites because he underwent part of the process. I dunno – I just felt there was an elegance to this…

    So now Cole has the Daemonites after him, his partner-in-crime pissed at him, and a team of Special Forces – led by his own brother no less – pursuing him. Meanwhile, the world thinks he’s a serial killer. Yeah, Grifter’s got his work cut out for him!

    The only point I had a problem with was just before the flashback. He’s in mid-air, fighting with a Daemonite, shouting “You son of a bitch, why don’t you just–“ and then it cuts to the flashback. When we catch up with that scene, it only adds the word “DIE?!” to the end. Really? I felt there should’ve been a better pay off than that. Or give us a reason he didn’t want to kill anyone – but since we’ve already seen him kill two people…well, there just wasn’t that much impact in it.

    Oh, and the timing thing: he mentioned that only 17 minutes had passed when he checked his watch. His partner tells him it’s been 17 days. Okay, I can buy that – 17 minutes plus 17 days. Easily mixed up, if you don’t know that days have passed. But then, at the end of the comic, he says, “I want my 17 hours back.” What about the other 6 days, 7 hours, and 17 minutes?

    All in all, it was a damn good read. There were problems, which cooled my excitement somewhat, but I still enjoyed it, and will probably pick up the rest of the series.

    The mysterious, hooded figure shows up on the bottom left panel of page 21. There’s no one else around, and she’s floating in the sky, looking down at Cole. So now we know she can fly!

Leave a Reply

