Review: Swamp Thing #1

Written by Scott Snyder, Art & Cover by Yanick Paquette

Solicitation Info (from Previews): One of the world’s most iconic characters has returned to the heart of the DC Universe, and every step he takes will shake the foundations of the Earth! Alec Holland has his life back…but the Green has plans for it. A monstrous evil is rising in the desert, and it’ll take a monster of another kind to defend life as we know it!

Bias: Never much cared for Swamp Thing, though that’s as a concept, not from having read his previous titles. Still, I read Detective Comics and American Vampire and really did like both (though both concepts were not what I would generally enjoy), so with Scott Snyder writing it, I’d say there’s a good chance I’ll be picking this one up regularly. (I didn’t like Severed or Batman: Gates of Gotham, however, but those were both co-written, so maybe Mr. Snyder isn’t as good with a collaborator? Dunno. We’ll see.)

What I liked: It was a solid story, setting up a lot of supernatural intrigue. The bad guy was creepy, and fitting, if I understand the concept correctly (see comments for more on that).

What I disliked: There was too much introduction and set-up. As of right now, I’m thinking I want to read this title, but maybe trade paperback is the better way to go – that it would read better in bigger chunks.

Verdict: I’ll definitely collect this. I’m giving it one more issue to see if I need to collect each issue, but if not, I’m still going to collect the trade paperbacks.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Swamp Thing #1

  1. My favorite scene was at the archaeological site, where the bad guy was introduced. It seemed to be made up of animals and insects, and had control over them – including humans, once one of the insects burrowed into their ear. If you consider that Swamp Thing is all about plants, this thing is a pretty good antithesis of that. Also, it was rather reminiscent of the Hunters Three from Animal Man’s dream in his own title. I wonder if the two are related…

    I may be reading too much into it, but Batman saw dead bats, Aquaman saw dead fish, and Superman saw dead birds (as in “Look! It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s Superman!”). I thought that was fun and creepy at the same time.
    I also had a lot of fun with the idea that Alex Holland lied to Superman. Concerning the Bio-Restorative Formula, he said “I destroyed it. I threw that one batch into the swamp behind my motel.” Yet at the end of the comic, we see Swamp Thing holding Alex’s arm back from actually doing what he said he’d already done.

    Oh, and the mysterious, hooded woman showed up on the second panel down on page 6. She was standing on the far left, behind the front of the vehicle. As with her appearance in Stormwatch, she was alone (every other title she was in saw her in the midst of a crowd of people.)

Leave a Reply

