Review: Static Shock #1

Static Shock 1

Written by Scott McDaniel and John Rozum, Art & Cover by Scott McDaniel and Jonathan Glapion

Solicitation Info (from Previews): The brilliant, slightly awkward high school student Virgil Hawkins transforms into the cocky electromagnetic hero Static! A mysterious tragedy forces the Hawkins family to relocate from Dakota to New York City! Virgil embarks upon new adventures in a new high school and a new internship at S.T.A.R. Labs! As Static, he dons a new uniform and establishes a new secret headquarters! But is he ready to take on the new villains who lurk in New York City’s underworld?

Bias: I like Scott McDaniel’s artwork, but I was honestly planning to give this one a pass when I first heard about it. My nephew (an intelligent half-African American in ever sense of the word – his biological father was a black man from Africa) made me reconsider that. Not that my nephew even knows about the book, but I plan to introduce him to it, and thought it might be a good introduction to comic books (he’s 11 years old.) So along with Mr. Terrific and Ultimate Spider-man, I’ve got a few titles that I think he can associate with (and the other two I planned on picking up for me, anyway – so what’s one extra book – and who knows? Maybe I’ll love it, too!)

What I liked: A comic I thought might be better suited for my nephew has reversed itself in my opinion. Now, I’ve come to decide I might actually want to read this title, and worry that it might be a bit too much for my nephew. I absolutely loved Xombi, so I’m not sure why I didn’t think I’d like this title. The main character acts both with youthful enthusiasm and genius level intellect (so often with stories, it’s only one or the other, and I loved that they pulled off both in the same character). I’ve always liked Scott McDaniel’s art (especially his run on Nightwing), and his art added greatly to the youthful quality of the book.

What I disliked: They vaguely mention something happened in the recent past, but don’t specify what that was. At first, I thought this was just something I didn’t know about because I hadn’t read the previous titles with Static. Upon looking it up to see what I was missing, I found out that this happened in between titles, and would be revealed in this new series.

Verdict: If it’s not above my nephew’s head, I’ll definitely be collecting it – for both of us. (Even if it is, I’m probably going to collect this just for me.)

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Static Shock #1

  1. My favorite scene is probably a cheat, as it lasts a good percentage of the book – the attempted rescue of the pilot in the plasma protection suit. Still, the ways Static tries to rescue the pilot showed off both his genius intellect and his youthful qualities. I’m not sure how much of it was actual science being thrown about, but it certainly sounded like it was, and the whole fight was a lot of fun. It was also refreshing that it was a rescue, rather than a straight up fight, and I especially loved that there was more going on than we originally knew.

    The biggest question mark of the series is why did the Hawkins family move to New York? The only clue was in reference to S.T.A.R. Labs: “That and hoping their experts can figure out what the deal is with my sister. Sisters.” Did he only have one sister before? Having only flipped through previous titles, I couldn’t tell you what his family situation was, so I’m not sure, but that seems to be the indication. Also, both sisters appear to repeat what they say over and over again. I’m not sure if that’s just amusement at what they’re talking about, or some kind of mental handicap from being split into two.
    As for the bad guys, there seems to be some kind of a conspiracy network in place. The police (or someone high ranking in the NYPD), the DA’s office, and several super powered operatives, all led by some freaky humanoid fish/reptile, who I get the feeling is an alien, but could very well be wrong. So the big question, of course, is what are they up to?
    I liked how they brought in Hardware from the Milestone days. He’s functioning as Static’s advisor and financier.

    The mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5 showed up on the top panel of page 22, looking in on the Hawkin family from out of the center window.

Leave a Reply

