Next Week’s Comic Reviews

Okay, this week, I did the reviews in alphabetical order. I work nights during the week, so on Wednesdays, I generally hit the comic store, go to bed, and read the comics when I wake up. It looks like, with work and other distractions, I can complete about 5 reviews a day – so amongst the ones listed below, if you want to see one reviewed before the others, just vote for the ones you most want to read. I don’t mind writing the reviews in any order, and whichever one most people want to see, I’ll even review it before I go to bed late Wednesday morning.

 

Batman and Robin 1

Written by Peter J. Tomasi, Art & Cover by Patrick Gleason and Mick Gray

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Battling evil with his son, Damian, at his side, Batman now realizes that the hardest part of the job may be trying to work together! As Batman and Robin try to adjust to their new partnership, a figure emerges from Bruce Wayne’s past: His name is NoBody, and he’s not happy that Batman Incorporated is shining a light on his own shadowy war against evil…

Bias: I kinda like the idea of Batman’s sidekick being his son (especially given who his son is), and I love Patrick Gleason’s art. Still, Batman in general usually doesn’t usually interest me as a solo book. We’ll see.

 

Batwoman 1

Written by J.H. Williams III and W. Haden Blackman, Art & Cover by J.H. Williams III

Solicitation Info (from Previews): At last! Batwoman’s new series begins, from the multiple award-winning creative team of J.H. Williams III and Haden Blackman! In “Hydrology,” part 1 of 5, Batwoman faces deadly new challenges in her war against Gotham City’s underworld – and new trials in her life as Kate Kane. Who or what is stealing children from the barrio, and for what vile purpose? Will Kate train her cousin, Bette Kane (a.k.a. Flamebird), as her new sidekick? How will she handle unsettling revelations about her father, Colonel Jacob Kane? And why is a certain government agency suddenly taking an interest in her?

Bias: The solicit information certainly seems interesting, and the artwork is nothing short of stunning, but again, Bat-books usually just don’t appeal to me.

 

Deathstroke 1

Written by Kyle Higgins, Art by Joe Bennett and Art Thibert, Cover by Simon Bisley

Solicitation Info (from Previews): “Friends die, family disappoints, but a legacy… That lives forever.” Slade Wilson is the best mercenary in the DCU, and he’s been doing this a long time. Some might say too long. But they’ll learn: Never turn your back on Deathstroke the Terminator. He won’t quit, no matter how high the stakes. Kyle Higgins (BATMAN: GATES OF GOTHAM) and Joe Bennett (TEEN TITANS) team up to bring you the finest in mayhem and gore.

Bias: Deathstroke should be a villain, and too often, a character that gets their own book slowly but surely becomes a hero/anti-hero. If the creative team can keep him as the badass we know and love, I’ll get this. If he becomes a sympathetic anti-hero, I’m done.

 

Demon Knights 1

Written by Paul Cornell, Art by Diogenes Neves and Oclair Albert, Cover by Tony S. Daniel

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Set in the Dark Ages of the DC Universe, a barbarian horde is massing to crush civilization. It’s fallen to Madame Xanadu and Jason Blood, the man with a monster inside him, to stand in their way – though the demon Etrigan has no interest in protecting anyone or anything other than himself! It’ll take more than their own power to stop an army fueled by bloodlust and dark sorcery, and some very surprising heroes – and villains – will have no choice but to join the fray!

Bias: I’m a fan of fantasy books, but somehow, it rarely translates to comic books, for some reason (for me, anyway – I know there are a lot of people who disagree with me). So I wasn’t sure if this would be of interest to me – especially with what I said about Deathstroke (namely, some characters – in this case, Etrigan – should be villains, and it doesn’t look like he’ll be that in this book…) Still, there have been a few books that have hinted that the events of Demon Knights paves the way for what the DCnU is in the present. So this could be interesting…

 

Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E. 1

Written by Jeff Lemire, Art by Alberto Ponticelli, Cover by J.G. Jones

Solicitation Info (from Previews): It’s Frankenstein as you’ve never seen him before, in a dark new series from acclaimed writer Jeff Lemire (SWEET TOOTH) and artist Alberto Ponticelli (UNKNOWN SOLDIER)! Frankenstein is part of a network of strange beings who work for an even stranger government organization: The Super Human Advanced Defense Executive! But can he protect the world from threats even more horrifying than himself? And since he’s vilified for who and what he is, will he even want to take on this mission?

Bias: I liked him in Seven Soldiers, I liked him in Flashpoint, and I absolutely loved Animal Man (also written by Jeff Lemire), so I expect that this will be right up my alley. Definitely gonna be one of the first books I read next week!

 

Green Lantern 1

Written by Geoff Johns, Art by Doug Mahnke and Christian Alamy, Cover by Ivan Reis and Joe Prado

Solicitation Info (from Previews): The red-hot GREEN LANTERN team of writer Geoff Johns and artist Doug Mahnke introduce an unexpected new Lantern.

Bias: It’s weird. I love cosmic stories. I collected all of Marvel’s cosmic titles, I collected L.E.G.I.O.N. and R.E.B.E.L.S., but I could just never get into Green Lantern. And the idea of the rainbow lanterns just seems silly to me (and given my love of Hawk & Dove, I read all of Blackest Night, so this is a view based on having read them). All that was to say that I don’t see myself excited about this one, but we’ll see.

 

Grifter 1

Written by Nathan Edmondson, Art by Cafu, Cover by Cafu and Bit

Solicitation Info (from Previews): The DCU’s most wanted man stars in his own series! Cole Cash is a charming grifter few can resist. And yet he’s about to be branded a serial killer when he begins hunting and exterminating inhuman creatures hidden in human form – creatures only he can see! Can the biggest sweet talker of all time talk his way out of this one when even his brother thinks he’s gone over the edge?

Bias: This one excites me, and I couldn’t even tell you why. Grifter never impressed me in WildC.A.T.s, so I would never have thought a solo book would’ve interested me. Still, I can’t help but think that this take on the character is something I’m really going to enjoy, and I do love the idea of the rest of the world thinking he’s a serial killer, forcing him to work in hiding.

 

Legion Lost 1

Written by Fabian Nicieza, Art & Cover by Pete Woods

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Seven heroes from the 31st century have traveled back to the present day. Their mission: Save their future from annihilation. But when the future tech they brought with them fails, they find themselves trapped in a nightmarish world that, for them, is the ultimate struggle to survive! Don’t miss the start of this all-new LEGION series illustrated by Pete Woods – fresh off his spectacular run on ACTION COMICS – who is joined by writer Fabian Nicieza (RED ROBIN)!

Bias: The only time I’ve collected Legion of Super Heroes was when Mark Waid was writing it, and I loved it then. I didn’t care so much for what came after that, and while I’ve heard good things about Paul Levitz’s run, I hadn’t yet found the time to try checking it out. So this might be a good time to check out the Legion stories again, starting with the Fabian Nicieza Legion Lost story. Besides, I’m a sucker for time travel stories…

 

Mister Terrific 1

Written by Eric Wallace, Art by Roger Robinson, Cover by J.G. Jones

Solicitation Info (from Previews): The world’s third-smartest man – and one of its most eligible bachelors – uses his brains and fists against science gone mad in this new series from Eric Wallace (TITANS) and Roger Robinson! Michael Holt is the head of a successful high-tech corporation and an institute that recruits and encourages the finest minds of the next generation to excel. As Mister Terrific he inhabits a world of amazement few others know exists, let alone can comprehend.

Bias: The writer has stated that the stories would quickly be cosmic in scope. Intelligent characters working in a cosmic arena are one of my all-time favorite subgenres. I’m looking forward to this, though I am a bit concerned that each of the first three issues has a different artist. I hope they find a permanent artist soon…

 

Red Lantern 1

Written by Peter Milligan, Art & Cover by Ed Benes and Rob Hunter

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Atrocitus and his Red Lantern Corps return in their own series, battling against injustice in the most bloody ways imaginable!

Bias: As I said under Green Lantern, I’m not a big Green Lantern fan, and the Rainbow Lanterns just seemed silly to me. Maybe the most violent, bloody Lantern set can change my mind, but I’m just not feeling the love for this one. Not prior to reading the first issue, anyway.

 

Resurrection Man 1

Written by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning, Art by Fernando Dagnino, Cover by Ivan Reis and Joe Prado

Solicitation Info (from Previews): It’s the return of Mitch Shelly – and he’s still dead. Resurrection Man can’t stay dead for long, though – and with each rebirth comes new and unexpected powers. But his many returns have not gone unnoticed, and forces are gathering to learn what’s so special about him – and to see which of them will finally stop Resurrection Man dead.

Bias: I loved the old series and was sad to see it go. I’ve loved what DnA have done with Marvel’s cosmic books. I’m expecting this to be awesome, but am willing to be told I underestimated just how good this book will actually be. 😉

 

Suicide Squad 1

Written by Adam Glass, Art by Marco Rudy, Cover by Ryan Benjamin

Solicitation Info (from Previews): They’re a team of death-row super villains recruited by the government to take on missions so dangerous – they’re sheer suicide! Harley Quinn! Deadshot! King Shark! Defeated and imprisoned, they’re being interrogated about their mission – and about who’s pulling the strings behind this illegal operation. Who will be the first to crack under the pressure?

Bias: What I said concerning Deathstroke and Etrigan of Demon Knights is especially true here. I’ve seen Harley Quinn often viewed as a sympathetic character, which I think is just plain wrong, in my opinion. If the other villains are painted with the same brush, I’ll be dropping this title. Let’s see these character remain villains, and I’ll love this title.

 

Superboy 1

Written by Scott Lobdell, Art by R.B Silva and Rob Lean, Cover by Eric Canete

Solicitation Info (from Previews): They thought he was just an experiment – and a failed one at that! Grown from a combination of Kryptonian and human DNA, the Clone was no more than a set of data to the scientists of Project N.O.W.H.E.R.E. But when the scope of his stunning powers was revealed, he became a deadly weapon! Now the question is: Can a clone develop a conscience?

Bias: I’m excited about Teen Titans, and I’m curious how this title ties in with that one, especially since both are written by Scott Lobdell, but I’m not sure I’ll stick around beyond that. This will have to be an interesting take on the character, and more than what I’m getting from Teen Titans for me to want to stick around.

Leave a comment

Filed under Review

Leave a Reply

