Review: O.M.A.C. #1

Written by Dan Didio and Keith Giffen, Art & Cover by Keith Giffen and Scott Koblish

Solicitation Info (from Previews): The all-seeing Brother Eye satellite has unleashed a new beast upon the DC Universe in this smashing new series! Kevin Kho has become an unwilling participant in a war between Checkmate and Brother Eye as he is transformed into the One Machine Army Corp known only as O.M.A.C.!

Bias: Not sure what to make of this. The worst concepts in the right hands can be magic, and Keith Giffen is a wizard of the craft. Still, I’m not that big a fan of any of the former O.M.A.C.s, and Dan Didio is a better editor than writer, so I think it all comes down to: is this title more Didio or Giffen?

What I liked: This title was exceptionally well done, but was definitely not targeted at me.

What I disliked: This comic, from the art style to the plotting of the story, was definitely a tribute to Jack Kirby and the early Silver Age. I will always respect Jack Kirby for what he did for comics – the comics I love today would not be possible without his influence – but that doesn’t meant that I particularly like his style, either. If you are one of the people who laments the direction modern comics have taken, or just wistfully remembers the good ole days of comics, this is probably the comic for you.

Verdict: Dropping this title due to personal bias.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: O.M.A.C. #1

  1. My favorite scene was the last page. The cosmic artwork with the dialogue describing how the main character belongs to, and can be controlled by, Brother Eye was juxtaposed by the final line of the comic “But first, call your girlfriend. She’s worried about you.” I laughed out loud at that, literally.

    One thing I didn’t mention in review itself, because it would be too spoiler-ific, was that I disliked the fact that Kevin isn’t in control as O.M.A.C. – that he’s outright controlled by Brother Eye bothers me.

    As for the mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5, she’s found on the bottom left panel of page 7, to the far left edge of the crowd.

Leave a Reply

