Review: Justice League International #1

Written by Dan Jurgens, Art by Aaron Lopresti and Matt Ryan, Cover by Aaron Lopresti

Solicitation Info (from Previews): With the growing presence of super beings around the world, the United Nations resolves to create a new group called Justice League International. Batman, Booster Gold, Green Lantern Guy Gardner, August General in Iron, Fire, Ice, Vixen and Rocket Red are charged with promoting unity and trust – but can they reach that goal without killing each other first?

Bias: This one worries me. After the awesome Generation Lost title, to switch out and go with a completely serious title with a different writer…well, let’s just say I’m not expecting much. When Jacosta was considered to be the unknown woman on the cover, I got a stirring of “maybe,” but then they removed her from the cover. I also kept getting the Booster Gold title because the concepts were amazing (who doesn’t love time travel), but the execution was always meh, so I’m also concerned on that front. All in all, I’m expecting disappointment more than anything out of this title, though I’m holding my breath that I’m wrong.

What I liked: This title was the happy surprise of the week. I expected to hate this title, and found myself enjoying it immensely (Animal Man was still my favorite thus far, but I hadn’t expected to like JLI, so loving it really was a pleasant surprise.) The character interactions were interesting (and, in many cases, fun), the manner in which they were chosen was believable, and the pacing was perfect (quick enough to get us to the action, but slow enough that we got enough information to not feel lost).

What I disliked: My biggest gripe is rather minor, and rather personal. Hawk and Dove were shown as potential candidates, but no explanation was given for why they weren’t acceptable for the team (to be honest, that was true of most of the candidates shown). I’m also annoyed with Batman on the team. What I mean to say is, I like Batman on the team, but not on every team. It’s one of my biggest gripes against Marvel. Batman’s on two JL teams, along with two solo books of his own. The team at the start isn’t necessarily the team even a couple issues in, so I’m hopeful that Batman sends Nightwing or Batgirl to fill in for him, but I’m not so sure that’s in the cards…

Verdict: I’m probably collecting this title.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Justice League International #1

  1. My favorite scene was when Booster Gold showed up at the Hall of Justice. The protesters are described as “Nothing but a bunch of basement dwellers who spend all day whining on the ‘net. Not a single open-minded one in the bunch.” I can’t help but think that’s referring to all the people who were trash-talking the DCnU without a single title out yet. If so, I think Booster Gold’s response is exactly right: “Ignore them? Never! It’s our job to prove ‘em wrong!” You don’t want to ignore your customer base – you want to prove them wrong about their reasons for protesting, and win them over to your side. The creative team on JLI has done just that – with me, anyway.

    I loved the character interactions. Booster Gold thinking he was joining the Justice League, but recovering quickly enough. Guy Gardner refusing to be on the team if Booster Gold leads it (I’m curious to see if he returns – after all, I don’t see him bailing on the missing research team, but I think he’s rather busy in space to actually be on the team, isn’t he?) Godiva seems to be a problem child, flirting with Booster Gold, but not pulling her weight (according to Batman – the picture above that seems to indicate she was doing her best against the rock monsters.) August General in Iron is abrasive, and especially rubs Rocket Red the wrong way – that’ll result in inter-group conflict, I’m sure.
    I wonder how much we’ll see from Booster’s perspective. I’m curious to see how much of his pre-Flashpoint history carried over – is he still working with Rip Hunter to repair the timeline? Heck, is he even still Rip Hunter’s dad?
    Oh, and the last page reveal – I didn’t recognize the robot, though Godiva and Booster Gold seemed to (unless they were just reacting to it being a giant robot). I googled Signalmen, but didn’t turn up anything useful, so I’m assuming they’re new…

    Oh, and the mysterious, hooded woman showed up on page 10, on the top panel, in the crowd of protesters.

Leave a Reply

