Review: Green Arrow #1

Written by J.T. Krul, Art by Dan Jurgens and Norm Rapmund, Cover by Brett Booth and Rob Hunter

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Green Arrow is on the hunt. Driven by inner demons, Ollie Queen travels the world and brings outlaws to justice…by breaking every law. Now, armed with cutting-edge weaponry and illegally gained intel (courtesy of his team at QCore), Green Arrow is shooting first and asking questions later.

Bias: Like Bat-books, this one just never did much for me. I’ve also never read anything by J.T. Krul, so this one could be a surprise hit or a miserable flop. I honestly don’t expect it to fall anywhere in between, though.

What I liked: Not much, really. I did like the new costume, for the most part. I especially loved the belt buckle. I would’ve liked them to trim his goatee down to something akin to the Dynamix villain in this issue (the big brute) rather than reduce it to stubble, but his old trademarked goatee was definitely outdated and needed a change, though, so the stubble is better than the old look for the “new, younger Ollie.” It did make him look more like Connor Hawke than Oliver Queen, though (don’t worry – he definitely acted like Ollie.)

What I disliked: Honestly, it’s not that I disliked everything about this series so much as felt “meh” about it. The characters were introduced, but I didn’t care about any of them, and I felt it spent too much time showing off what cool gizmos Green Arrow was using. All in all, I felt like it lacked heart – like it was a comic going through the motions.

Verdict: Dropping This Title

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Green Arrow #1

  1. My favorite scene was when he shot regular arrows to take down Supercharge. After all the fancy gizmos he used to take down the other two, it was normal arrows that finished the last one off (well, that and a love tap to the temple.)

    Our mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5 (I really need a name for this woman, so I can stop calling her that!) showed up on page 11, on the top left panel. She’s in the crowd behind Green Arrow, and is larger than most other images we’ve seen of her, which provided relatively good detail of her outfit.

Leave a Reply

