Review: Detective Comics #1

Written by Tony S. Daniel, Art by Tony S. Daniel and Ryan Winn, Cover by Tony S. Daniel

Solicitation Info (from Previews): DC’s flagship title is relaunched for the first time ever, with new Batman adventures from acclaimed writer/ artist Tony S. Daniel! A killer called The Gotham Ripper is on the loose on Batman’s home turf – leading The Dark Knight on a deadly game of cat and mouse.

Bias: I feel like a broken record, but here we go again for the third time: I’m not a fan of the Bat-family books, and I’ve seen nothing here to sway me from that opinion. Tony Daniel does have some amazing artwork, though, so if his story can capture my attention, this is the most likely of the Bat-books coming out this week to win me over, though that’s not saying much.

What I liked: The story did, in fact, win me over. The interaction between the villains was a welcome difference from the norm, and I loved how they set up Batman’s relationship with the police. The dialogue itself was witty and fit each of the characters to a “t.” As for the artwork, it was everything I expected it to be – that is to say, beautifully illustrated. All in all, I was quite impressed.

What I disliked: I feel this would’ve made a better Batman comic than a Detective Comics book. It was by far more about fighting the bad guy than about tracking him down or solving mysteries. That might change, given the surprise twist at the end of the comic, but this first issue was more about the fights. Still, it was a good story, and I find that counted more than if it had been a bad detective story.

Verdict: I will, at the least, be picking up issue 2.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Detective Comics #1

  1. My favorite scene was when the Joker killed the Dollmaker’s son. It was sadistic and morbidly humorous – exactly what a scene with the Joker should be. My favorite piece of dialogue was Batman’s response to Commissioner Gordon saying that Gotham will always be a hell hole. Batman’s response was simply “Like hell it will.” I dunno – it resonated with me, and I loved that Batman was going to fight to insure that Gotham’s future was better than its past. Very fitting response for Batman.

    I think we’re going to find out that the little girl that Batman rescued is part of the Dollmaker’s family, too. (Hence why a member of her family was so quick to pick her up, and also why she was “surprisingly helpful” in locating the Joker.)
    The interaction between the villains that I mentioned loving previously was the mutual admiration – to the degree that the Dollmaker’s son is proud to be killed by the Joker, and the Joker accepts being mutilated by the Dollmaker himself (and only the Dollmaker). It was psychotic (which is fitting for Batman villains) and different from the usual bitter rivalry usually seen.
    I also liked the explanation of how the police can be opposed to Batman, but Commissioner Gordon is on his side. Having the problem revolve around a butting of heads between Gordon and the Mayor (who is siccing the police on Batman as a means of securing re-election) was a wonderful way to have your cake and eat it too. Now Batman has an ally in Commissioner Gordon, but still has to be wary of the police – especially if Gordon isn’t around.
    It’ll be interesting to actually see the Dollmaker – and see what the results of the Joker’s mutilation is…

    The mysterious, hooded woman from Flashpoint #5 showed up on page 20, on the bottom left panel, front and center in crowd. We got to see a bit more of her outfit as a result, which was interesting.

Leave a Reply

