Review: Batwing #1

Written by Judd Winick, Art & Cover by Ben Oliver

Solicitation Info (from Previews): Africa, a land of beauty – and of great horror. A land of creation and conflict. It is in desperate need of a defender, and from the ranks of Batman Incorporated comes a soldier to carry on the legacy of The Dark Knight in the most tumultuous region on Earth. Meet Batwing, the Batman of Africa!

Bias: As I said above, I’m not a big Bat-family fan, and this one has nothing in the solicits and interviews to change that opinion. As with all the 52 DCnU titles, I’m picking up #1 to give its creative team a chance to wow me into picking up #2, but I just don’t see this one capturing my attention.

What I liked: The art was amazing!! Light on background, but the foreground was so detailed you barely noticed. The story did a great job of setting up the series, letting us see an arch-enemy, the hero’s allies (I especially liked how Batman was portrayed as a mentor), and the methods the hero uses (his secret identity especially). I especially liked the fact that, while I haven’t read Batman Inc., I was able to understand what was going on without feeling like I missed any of the story.

What I disliked: Although the comic was well written, and I did like a number of the elements, it just felt like it was written with a different target audience in mind – it just wasn’t for me. (I feel this way about anime, as well. Just not my thing.)

Verdict: going to give this one a pass, though you might want to check it out yourself.

As always, SPOILERS in comments, including my favorite scene, thoughts on what happened, and questions about what’s to come.

Other DCnU Reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Batwing #1

  1. My favorite scene was in his headquarters. Batman stood back and asked pointed questions. It was then that I realized that Batman was mentoring Batwing, and letting him reach the correct conclusions himself. I loved seeing that side of Batman, and it showed Batwing to be capable, if new to the hero game. Great scene.

    Right before the flashback, the bad guy says “We honor them al in blood.” This startles Batwing. What was it about the statement that gave Batwing pause? (The rest of the comic was a part of a large flashback, and hasn’t yet revealed this, so I’m assuming we’ll learn in future issues.)
    I’m assuming that we’re going to find out that Officer Kia Okuru had the day off – seems pointless to spend so much time on her only to kill her off, after all – and we didn’t see a woman’s body amongst the dead at the precinct.
    The ending made me chuckle, as it reminded me of the line from the Serenity movie: “Guy killed me, Mal. He killed me with a sword. How weird is that?” (I know, Batwing isn’t dead, given that he’s alive after the flashback six weeks later, but it still reminded me of that.)

    Our Mysterious Hooded Woman from Flashpoint #5 showed up on page 25, on the top panel, behind a police vehicle apart from crowd. So far, Batgirl #1 is the only comic I haven’t found this woman in…

Leave a Reply

