Flash Fiction: Weekly Challenge #277

The topic for 100 Word Stories’ Weekly Challenge was “Radio” this week. My entry was titled “First Contact,” and it was just what it sounds like: humanity’s first contact with an alien species. I went all out on this one, using a speech to text website (ABC2MP3.com) to simulate a language translation device of the alien species, and a science fiction sound effect website (Absolute Sound Effects Archive) for some of their high tech equipment (I used the  Communications satellite sound effect under science fiction sounds). It was a lot of fun to make! As for the story itself, it was an idea I had for an answer to the age old question: “If there is intelligent life out there, why haven’t they responded to our attempts to communicate?” I was never sure what to do with it, but that scene just stuck in my head a few years back and I wrote it down in case I could ever use it. 🙂

As always, you can find last week’s entry, “Bottomless,” posted under the Flash Fiction tab. I’m up to nine flash fiction stories now!

The topic for next week’s challenge is Wild. I think I’ll do something Fantasy related for this one…

Leave a comment

Filed under Flash Fiction

Leave a Reply

